One of my Favorite Shoppes: Simple Treasures in Pella, IA

There is the most adorable little historic yellow house in Pella, IA that is no one lives in.  It’s a wonderful charming shoppe named Simple Treasures.  Tucked into the residential area you might miss it if you didn’t know it was there.  Luckily it’s a local treasure in itself!

I first spotted it on Facebook.  Not sure exactly where or how it popped up but I’m certainly glad I did.  After looking through the pictures, I was a huge fan already.  It took a couple months to make it there but I knew I was going to love it & I was not disappointed.

My Mom & daughter went along the first time.  I was in awe…there is so much grace & energy.  The exterior is a lovely hue of yellow with white trim, which you don’t see often enough.  The yard welcomed us with garden poles, a painted bicycle, tulips {of course} & the porch with bunting & other fun end of Summer things.  The next time was around Christmas.  I met a dear friend in town for our gift exchange.  The holiday decorations were magical!  My friend & I both picked up the same sparkling white jar candle, it makes the whole living room fill with aroma.

This was not just one of my new favorite stores, I knew I wanted to tell it’s story & I’m happy that Shawna Miller, owner, agreed to sharing!  Starting her business out of her own home with occasional sales in the Spring & Christmas the business grew and she needed more room.  She then turned to renting spaces in Pella to hold pop-up sales & events on some weekends.  While looking for the next location, Shawna found the sweet house & thought it would be the perfect backdrop for her finds {she couldn’t have been more right}.  She & her husband decided to purchase the little charmer from the Pella Historic Trust.  Much love & hard work went into renovating the home, originally built in 1895, with many evenings as “date nights” where they stripped wallpaper, scraped black tar from the floors, rewired the electric, painted & transformed it into what it is now: a gem.  Maybe they are Iowa’s Chip & Joanna?

“I’ve always enjoyed decorating and making my house feel like home.  I get great satisfaction in giving my home a cozy feeling for my family.  I also have a great love for vintage things and refinishing furniture,” says Shawna.  She also enjoyed working in retail & was fortunate to be able to go to market, gaining some great experience she’d use later.   Opening an actual store was something she just jumped into, with loving support from her husband.  It’s proved to be a wonderful adventure she said & she’s grateful for her sweet customer’s support too.

Her love of blending both new & old treasures and searching for unique store finds really shines throughout the shoppe.  Some of her personal favorite collectibles are ironstone, pretty dishes, unique pieces of furniture that she has restored, old books, blue glass jars, architectural details, galvanized pieces & vintage suitcases.  You’ll find these & so much more in this quaint cottage.  One item worth mentioning that Shawna personally uses to bring furniture to life is the chalk paint she carries, Little Billy Goat.  She has spindles with shade samples so you can actually see the yummy colors!

The challenge for Shawna has remained the same with the business as it was before: finding balance, which we can all relate to.  Making time for both the business & family are a matter of choosing what needs priority.  At the same time, it’s been a great opportunity for her children to be involved & learn the ins & outs of running a small business by helping out & earning their own spending money.  An added bonus are the many friendships Shawna has made through the store.  She’s thankful she took the leap of faith on a great & crazy adventure {I know I am; you will too}.

If you’re already a fan of Simples Treasure I’m sure you’ll agree the name certainly fits.  If not a fan yet, you will be, make sure to take time for a visit soon!  Follow them on Facebook here { < this will directly link to your FB page when they click on “here”}.  I’m already looking forward to my next trip there!

For your viewing pleasure:

porch-with-treatures-in-spring

How adorable is this porch? Yeah, that adorable!

old-books-old-plates-old-pottery-mixed-with-new

Vintage pottery, old plates, greenery & patterns!

img_6352

Walking in a Winter Wonderland ❤

furniture-outdoors-spring

Chippy, garden, floral & storage are cheerful!

img_6358

One of my favorite areas: a cabinet full of shiny goodies!

you-know-me-and-clocks

Swoon : this clock is calling to me / you know I LUV clocks!

outdoor-with-biz-sign-and-garden-poles

Simple Treasures Indeed 🙂

winterish-and-christmas-candles

This candle collection is now part of mine & my friend’s living room.

love-sign

Decor for ALL seasons.

img_6362

What does your eye spy?  I spy vintage mercury ornaments,  old alarm clock, bottle trees…

chalk-paint-area

Love chalk paint? Check out the hues from Little Billie Goat!

tulips-and-garden-poles

Garden poles & tulips are pure Spring!

outdoor-furniture-etc

If only I had a bigger house…….!!!

img_6346

So much going on there, I could be here all day 🙂

never-seen-before-candycorn-bottle-trees

Have you ever seen candy corn bottle brush trees?                                                                                     Now you have…& you want them, don’t you?

 

painted-bike-in-spring-yard-with-family-sign

A walk in the garden ❤

autumn-goodies

Velvet pumpkins & Autumn signage = my favorite time of year!

Happy Treasure Shopping Junkers!

 

 

 

One thought on “One of my Favorite Shoppes: Simple Treasures in Pella, IA

Leave a Reply

