Uncategorized

Meet Old Parts ~ New Hearts!

Me making a true connection with Pam & her unique, hand-made hearts have been a long process.  I think my friend & fellow junk-lover, Pam, first ‘liked’ Old Parts ~ New Hearts Facebook page & that is where I noticed her creations & I instantly was smitten! I would consider them collectible home decor but some are for the garden as well!  It wasn’t long before I was following her on Facebook too, to see where she might be, messaged her a few times to find out where she was going to be next & invariably, we would have other plans & was was never able to see them in person.

Then, as Junk Hunk Hubby & I were talking about going to JunkStock in October, the conversation changed to: what if we go in April, & then it was really time to plan that April trip!  I scoured JunkStock’s website for info on parking, times, etc. & of course, vendors.  I saw a few I recognized & knew & then I saw Old Parts ~ New Hearts & I was even more excited!  I was finally going to meet Pam & see those gorgeous aqua hearts & take one home!

Just a few weeks before our trip I reached out to Pam, asking if I could feature here on the blog & happily she agreed!  Pam says she makes ‘funky pieces using old parts, hardware & carved hearts sure to make you smile’!  Having been a folkart wood worker for the past 30 years has lead her to these current gems.  She hand carves all the hearts {I love that they have a whittled-look} & combines them with such things as door knobs, hinges, oil cans, wheels & clock parts to name a few.  Pam herself  collects such items as tractor headlights, industrial gauges, vintage alarm clocks, shaving brushes, & lots of galvanized items {fun!}.

She gets says the setting up & tearing down at the venues is probably the most challenging aspect of her business but help from family has been super handy this Spring after she took some time off after having double knee surgery.  Other vendors she has meet provide valuable business advice.  She works most every day in her basement, creating the hearts then taking pictures, pricing & then loading up for a show.  Pam sets up for & attends anywhere from 20-30+ shows a year along with a couple open houses.  Her favorite quote regarding success is from Maya Angelou ” Success is liking yourself, liking what you do, and liking how you do it.”  I’ve seen her success grow & hope you’re able to see her hearts too!  She believes the trend of repurposing will continue to grow in the junk industry & so do we.

During our visit to JunkStock & in meeting Pam, I was too excited & didn’t get any pictures, darn it.  But I do have one of my heart in the living room {which you might have already seen last week} & some from Old Parts ~ New Hearts Facebook page I’m going to share here so you can see these amazing creations!

 

20170410_161943
My heart is on the top of a bronze oil can & has the tiniest fuse…it actually sparkles like a crystal ❤

all colorsaqua heart outdoorsChristmas heart treesChristmas porch inspirationEat in whiskHalloweenheart on hoehodge podge of heartspastelsporch heartshutter heartsupplies and heartstin ceiling tile with red heartyellow chair outdoorshearts for windmillwindmill on shet

Leave a Reply

